What are the criteria for a home to be to be considered luxury, when under Italian law, is a home considered “luxury”

What are the criteria for a home to be to be considered luxury, when under Italian law, is a home considered “luxury”

Laws&Regulations Feb 01, 2013 No Comments

Edited by Antonio Maprosti

If your idea is to buy a beautiful prestigious farmhouse in Tuscany or a beautiful villa in Sardinia or Liguria, one of the first questions that you will probably ask yourself is whether they are considered luxury. One reason why this is important is because of the famous or infamous IMU property tax which should not be paid on the main residence unless it is classified as luxury. But what is the criteria by which a home is considered “luxury” according to Italian law? It is important to know the legislation, Corte di Cassazione- D.M. Lavori pubblici 2nd August, 1969. According to this legislation, a luxury property must have 8 features:

• First, the properties must be approved as “villas” or “private park” and therefore is qualified as “luxury”;

• Second, Single-family homes built on lots of a minimum of 3000 square metres and over;

• Third, Luxury homes when they are part of buildings with a volume greater than 2000 cubic metres, built on lots with a volume of less than 25 cubic metres v.p.p for every 100 square metres;

• Single-family luxury homes that have a swimming pool of over 80 square metres or tennis courts with underground drainage, an area of at least 650 square metres;

• Properties with a total living area of 200 square metres (excluding balconies, terraces, car parking spaces and cellars) and have an outdoor area a size that exceeds 6 times the inner surface;

• Properties categorised as luxury single units with a total area of 240 square metres (excluding balconies, terraces and cellars);

• In the case where the properties are part of buildings or parts of buildings constructed on residential areas, and the cost of the covered land exceed one and a half times the cost of the construction alone;

• And lastly, if a property does not have any of the features listed above, it can still be considered luxury if it has at least 4 features listed in the table attached to the legislation. For example, lifts, prestigious fixtures and fittings (solid wood doors, prestigious flooring materials, decorated coffered ceilings), luxurious fabric covered walls etc.

Share on:

Maria Letizia Vigorito

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!